After four decades, Life is still elsewhere


Life is Elsewhere” by Milan Kundera
One of my all time favorites!!

Memento Mori.inc

Is Jaromil still alive among us? Is the quintessential introspective shy prototype of a poet is still well and kicking? Or has the glitz and glamour of globalized uniform culture of loud vulgarity left no space what-so-everLiffe is elsewhere for the Jaromils?

This is what I asked myself for innumerable times while reading “Life is elsewhere” by Milan Kundera that I perceive as the best work by the author (and I am saying this keeping the other works as eminent as The Unbearable lightness of being or The Immortality in mind). Life is elsewhere is neither a period drama woven around some representative characters intending to invoke longing for the days by gone in the hearts of the readers, nor is it a staunch political work in the strictest sense of that term. In fact Kundera never intended to be a political voice vociferating against the political regime only. His…

View original post 445 more words

A dreamer. An intellectual, spoiled by the world of literature trying to find sanity through traveling and expression through Visual Art and writing! Hope you like my expressions on this blog!!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Book Review
3 comments on “After four decades, Life is still elsewhere
  1. Jenny says:

    Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other
    websites? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some
    stories/information. I know my viewers would appreciate
    your work. If you’re even remotely interested,
    feel free to shoot me an e mail.

  2. Luther says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your
    weblog. You have some really good articles and I think I would
    be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of
    the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog
    in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an e-mail if interested.

    Cheers!

  3. Gina says:

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, however, you sound like you
    know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

Goodreads
Top Rated
Awards
Liebster Award

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,194 other followers

