Out of Order, Inconvenience Regretted


“Out of Order, Inconvenience Regretted.”

This is the insignia of the remaining battle to reach my office located at the top-floor of a multi-storeyed building, encountered after battling the traffic and parking situation. On reaching my destination, however, I inevitably wonder, “all the trouble to get here?”

 

My friend, who works in a building exclusive to her company, has a romanticized view of the lift of my building – a social platform where you can meet and greet people working at different companies. I try to see things her way and pleasantly greet the co-habitants of the chamber, but huddled so close together in the closet, I could not look at the faces of the people rubbing shoulders with me and struggled to find some open space in between, finally settling for looking down at the metallic ground and feet, amusing myself by overhearing the conversations around, that I had little choice but to eavesdrop and the music playing in the earphones of the next person but for the benefit of all and by trying to guess the floor at which the next person will get off at.

 

My reverie is soon broken as the lift sputtered and stopped, abandoning us midway, perhaps in support of Anna Hazare.  I cursed as I jumped two feet, dressed in skirt and heels, to reach the ground as the rescue team opened the door to let us out.

 

I shrugged away my friend’s romanticized perspective; the lift will only be an  impediment on the way to office!!

A dreamer. An intellectual, spoiled by the world of literature trying to find sanity through traveling and expression through Visual Art and writing! Hope you like my expressions on this blog!!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Thought
2 comments on “Out of Order, Inconvenience Regretted
  1. jasmine says:

    Hahaha,
    Your post doesn’t change your friend’s romanticized view of your lift!
    Love you, was missing your blog, amongst other things.

  2. jasmine says:

    Please keep writing!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads
Top Rated
Awards
Liebster Award

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,194 other followers

