“A Hunger Artist”- Franz Kafka


This 6-pager story written in 1922, is about the struggle of an artist to promote his art when it has failed the test of time and the fickle attention of masses.

 The consummate profession, preceded by the preposition ‘A’ in the title,  solely defines the nameless and characterless protagonist and finally consumes him. Fasting is the only art the protagonist knows and proffers, not for a cause but for the mere entertainment of his spectators.  His main ambition is to rise to fame by breaking all fasting records but ironically it is not fame but death that embraces him there and no one even bothers to count his days on fast. His main spectators are butchers who stay overnight just to gorge on free breakfast the next day. Who would like to see a starving emaciated caged man anyways?

In a classic Kafka style, the protagonist is kept in a cage and later the cage is kept in a zoo where the audience prefers menagerie over him. Also as life reins over death and in Kafka style, as animals rein over humans, in the end a restless panther supplants his lifeless form and gets more attention from the crowd.

In this story, Kafka mainly depicts the suffering of artists, cruelty and fickleness of masses, human resistance to change, futility of groundless ambitions. Of course there can be many metaphorical interpretations of the story as well. One possible metaphor could be how machines have totally supplanted humans and animals could be of more use than humans as in cars and bullock-carts have
supplanted man-pullers.

A dreamer. An intellectual, spoiled by the world of literature trying to find sanity through traveling and expression through Visual Art and writing! Hope you like my expressions on this blog!!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Book Review
11 comments on ““A Hunger Artist”- Franz Kafka
  1. jasmine says:

    Interestingly relevant to read about today with Ramdev’s fast in the background.
    You make me want to read this story!
    🙂

  2. autoblogging says:

    I appreciate making the effort to go over this important, Personally i think frankly regarding it also have a passion for finding out more it problem. In case possibilities, while you obtain competency, might you views producing your entire web publication because of in addition info? This is very used by me and my friends.

  3. After city whatever of your blogposts I staleness say i constitute this fact one to mostly be top snick. I hump a weblog also and want to repost a few shear of your articles on my own journal tract. Should it be alright if I use this as longish I own write your web journal or make a inward unite to your article I procured the snippet from? If not I see and could not do it without having your acceptance . I hit assemblage marked this article to sound and zynga chronicle willful for testimonial. Anyway appreciate it either way!

  4. Ellyn Vess says:

    I should say, youve got 1 of the finest blogs Ive noticed in a long time. What I wouldnt give to have the ability to develop a blog thats as intriguing as this. I guess Ill just need to maintain reading yours and hope that one day I can write on a topic with as a lot knowledge as youve got on this one!

  5. I need to say, youve got 1 with the very best blogs Ive seen in a long time. What I wouldnt give to be able to develop a weblog thats as interesting as this. I guess Ill just have to maintain reading yours and hope that 1 day I can write on a subject with as much information as youve got on this 1!

  6. I merely wanted to thank you once again for your amazing web page you have produced here. It is full of ideas for those who are seriously interested in this particular subject, particularly this very post. You’re really all amazingly sweet plus thoughtful of others as well as reading your website posts is a good delight with me. And such a generous reward! Ben and I will certainly have excitement making use of your suggestions in what we should do in the near future. Our listing is a distance long which means your tips will be put to fine use.

  7. A pity, but I debate with this post. I do like your specific weblog however and will likely continue to keep moving once again for update versions.

  8. I got this website from my friend who told me on the topic of this website and at the moment this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative articles here.

  9. It’s remarkable to pay a visit this website and reading the views of all mates regarding this paragraph, while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.

  10. riche says:

    Keep up the wonderful work, I read few posts on this internet site and I believe that your web site is very interesting and has sets of excellent information.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads
Top Rated
Awards
Liebster Award

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,196 other followers

