The Kafka Project


“Who is John Galt?”

If you have read Ayn Rand’s ‘Atlas Shrugged’, you would know the pertinence of this question that is posed by the author right at the inception of the book and reappears time and again to haunt the reader until it is finally answered, about midway through the book.

Franz Kafka is the John Galt of literature, a name that would haunt anyone who has read literature, even though you might not have read the works of the maestro himself. His works together constitute a long dark shadow that befalls upon you time and again as you make your way through the works of literature and though you may choose not to trace the shadow to its source and not read his complete works, you will not be able to escape the shadow that may appear sometimes only as a dark obscure reference but sometimes clear enough to illuminate the contours of the main work in intricate detail.

I don’t even remember when and where had I first stumbled upon his name but I am certain that Coetzee and Murakami paved my way to the complete works of the maestro himself. On reading about him, I also established a little personal connection with him, getting solace from the fact that he had worked in an insurance company from 1917 till his retirement in 1922 due to tuberculosis. Whenever I sink deep into the mire of money and corporate life and feel that my writing has become insipid, bound by the scope of official jargon, Kafka appears as a hanging branch of a tree that I can grasp and wriggle my way out of the marsh. His unsuccessful love affairs that never ended in a marriage also make me relate to him in a special way that only two freaks disdained by society can relate with each other. I can also fathom his decree of burning his works post his death, though of course the world would have been deprived of Kafkaesque had the decree been followed.

The most striking feature of his writing is his complete disregard for humanity. He totally shatters the closely held belief of “Cognito Ergo Sum” that thinking and culture makes us- the HomoSapiens the more exalted and supreme species than the other (allegedly lower) animals. In his stories, he uses the characters of humans and other animals interchangeably, for instance, in ‘Metamorphosis’, Gregor Samsa metamorphoses to assume the form of a cockroach, one of the lowest form of animals on earth and in “A Note to Academy’, a monkey, the animal considered to be the predecessor of humans, dons the cultural veneer of humans to tell his story. Each story is unique in its own peculiar way, typical to Kafka.

As a personal ode to him, I have embarked upon a project to all his short stories in the coming blog entries.

A dreamer. An intellectual, spoiled by the world of literature trying to find sanity through traveling and expression through Visual Art and writing! Hope you like my expressions on this blog!!

Tagged with:
Posted in Book Review
11 comments on “The Kafka Project
  1. The short stories in The Thin Line show what happens when a writer casts a thin line into a pool of character and situation.

  2. iPhone 5 Release Date says:

    I reckon something truly special in this website.

  3. agen sbobet says:

    I went over this web site and I believe you have a lot of fantastic info, saved to favorites (:.

  4. richissime says:

    Well I really liked reading it. This article offered by you is very helpful for proper planning.

  5. Aaron Zhang says:

    Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and in depth information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  6. I really like what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and reporting! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  7. Beneficial info and excellent design you got here! I want to thank you for sharing your ideas and putting the time into the stuff you publish! Great work!

  8. Normally I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice post.

  9. Milo Fellon says:

    Wow ! Fabulous job! i would like to read your post a great deal.Its make me to clutches more information. Thank You !

  10. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my web site so i got here to “return the prefer”.I am attempting to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to make use of some of your concepts!!

  11. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you are a
    great author. I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will come back very soon. I want
    to encourage yourself to continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

Goodreads
Top Rated
Awards
Liebster Award

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,196 other followers

