PAA: A Review


The birth of a child marks the demise of a relationship and the rebirth of the relationship is marked with the demise of the child. An interesting concept, ingenuous storyline essentially devoid of the excessive sentimentality of Bollywood lest the last twenty minutes and commendable make-up of Amitabh Bachchan, although I would have preferred an actual patient. A though provoking yet entertaining movie that made me feel proud of Indian cinema.

The title itself tinkles the thought process. At first glance, a layman will mistake it for Paa, the Hindi word for father, and the promotions of the movie emphasizing the unique father-son relationship (obviously capitalizing on Abhishek- Amitabh relationship) will reaffirm this belief but look again and you realize that PAA is the acronym of Premature or Accelerated Aging alluding to the rare but dreadful disease Progeria. Similarly, the child’s name Auro for most would represent the short form of Aurobindo but the name is probably derived from the name of the movie “Aurora Encounters” that stars Mickey Hays, a Progeria patient, as an alien.

But what actually kept me engaged throughout the movie were the eye-catching watches of Abhishek and Vidya that had me guessing their make throughout the movie but my speculations were put to an end at the culmination of the movie. The scene of enjoined wrists revealing Hugo Boss label!! Contended, I gazed back at the Tommy label on my wrist!!

A dreamer. An intellectual, spoiled by the world of literature trying to find sanity through traveling and expression through Visual Art and writing! Hope you like my expressions on this blog!!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Movie Review
6 comments on “PAA: A Review
  1. Jasmine says:

    Should watch it when I get back to life…
    You should find another Tommy adorned watch!

  2. kanguamma says:

    Truthful words, some authentic words man. Thx for making my day.

  3. Moontwined says:

    Well, wont really comment on the film, but its 360 marketing really began to get annoying what with Auro doing commentary on a India-Sri Lanka ODI. Besides, I really doubt Balki set out to sensitize about Progeria. Being the adman that he is, he started with the tantalizing one-liner – can we make Amitabh the son of Abhishek? Only to later research a condition which could be a plausible explanation.

    What next I wonder? Can Amitabh play Abhishek’s grandson? Or better still, his daughter? Now I would pay money to watch that!

    • I agree with you on this movie being a totally commercial movie with no aesthetic value, capitalizing on Bachhans and completely lacking focus. But in-spite of its shortcomings and commercials, it is able to drive home a message to the masses, who put little use of their brains and would’ve watched the movie only for the commercial appeal (and probably more would’ve watched had it starred Aishwarya as well, had the Bachhans not been so concerned about introducing her in a mother role) would’ve have at least come to know of this disease!! And I would give Balki credit for making a first movie on progeria, although I know it was far from his focus point!!

  4. Johnma says:

    I am reading this article second time today, you have to be more careful with content leakers. If I will fount it again I will send you a link

  5. Dude.. I am not much into reading, but somehow I got to read lots of articles on your blog. Its amazing how interesting it is for me to visit you very often. –

Leave a Reply

Goodreads
Top Rated
Awards
Liebster Award

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,194 other followers

